fried tahu coated with mix-flour mixture

Tahu has always been my favorite. Along with tempe. I love its soft texture. And the taste is not very soya.. :)

It’s been already some months that it was absent from my kitchen. I missed the taste. So I bought one big piece last wednesday from an Asian store in Arnhem. It spent one day and one night in my refrigerator before finally I had time to cook it. This time I wanted to deep fry it coated with flour mixture.

Cut the tahu into big cubes, marinate them in 50 ml water mixed with 1 tsp of coriander powder, 1 big clove of garlic (crushed and finely chopped or mashed) and 1/2 tsp of salt. Marinate the tahu cubes for at least 1 hour and keep them in the refrigerator.

After 1 hour, take the tahu cubes out of the marinate water and keep them aside. Meanwhile put 2 tbsp of cake flour, 1 1/2 tbsp of rice flour, a pinch of salt (or to taste), 2 tbsp of chopped chives or scallions. Mix well and taste. Heat enough vegetable oil in a pan with medium heat. Wait until the oil good hot but not too hot. Coat the tahu cubes in the flour mixture and fry in the hot oil. Don’t turn the tahu cubes before the bottom side turn to golden brown colour or otherwise they will become oily after being taken out of the oil. It will take some minutes but be patient. Meanwhile I use my time to clean the kitchen utensils which I would not use anymore. By doing this I never feel that it actually takes long time to deep fry something.

After the tahu cubes are nice golden brown take them from the oil and put them on a kitchen paper towel to remove the excess oil. Serve them with some rawit chili pepper or with Indonesian sweet kecap mixture as an afternoon snack or serve them as a complementary dish for lunch or dinner.

Notes:

1. As usual my habit, I boil the tahu in water with a pinch of salt. It makes the tahu firm and doesn’t break easily. Besides, if I don’t have time to cook it, boiling or steaming it will make the tahu stay good longer.

2. How to make Indonesian sweet kecap mixture? Mix 50 ml Indonesian sweet kecap with 1 tbsp of chopped tomato, 1 tbsp of chopped onion and finely chopped of 1 rawit chilli pepper. The last ingredient is optional.

3. If sometimes chives and/or scallions are not available in my kitchen, I substiture them with 1 tbsp of chopped fresh basil and/or 1 tsp of fresh thyme. Different taste but equally good.

* * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

